Suzanne Johnston
Flagler County Tax Collector

Suzanne Johnston
Flagler County Tax Collector

Hunting and Freshwater Fishing

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission regulates hunting and freshwater fishing in the state of Florida. This agency sets and enforces policies and initiates environmental conservation programs to protect Florida wildlife. In addition, this state office determines license fees, which are set by the Florida Legislature.

Hunting licenses are annual permits valid 12 months from the date of issuance. A lifetime hunting license is also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a 10 day hunting permit.

Freshwater fishing licenses are valid 12 months from the date of issuance. A five-year freshwater fishing license and a lifetime freshwater fishing license are also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a seven-day permit.

The "Cane Pole Law" allows Florida any resident to fish in the county of his/her residency without a license. The angler can use live or natural bait and poles or hand lines that are not equipped with a reel, for non-commercial purposes only. No fishing license is required to fish in a private fishing pond.

Update - Florida and Georgia are no longer reciprocal:

An agreement between Florida and Georgia that allowed senior citizens from either state to hunt and fish in freshwater without licenses in both states ended on June 30, 2008.

Georgia officials announced in May, 2007 that economic realities have rendered the reciprocal agreement no longer feasible for hunting, and that it would come off the books.  The nature of the agreement required that Florida follow suit.

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) voted to end the reciprocal agreement concerning freshwater fishing, as well.  The agreement never has exempted nonresident seniors from either state from saltwater fishing license requirments.

SALTWATER SHORELINE FISHING LICENSE:
All fishermen who are fishing from a bridge or the shoreline (even your own private dock) must have a Saltwater Shoreline License to fish.
The Saltwater Shoreline Fishing License, which is available only to residents, is a no cost license. 
If you already hold a Saltwater License, you will not need a Shoreline License.

 

 

Hunting and Freshwater Fishing

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission regulates hunting and freshwater fishing in the state of Florida. This agency sets and enforces policies and initiates environmental conservation programs to protect Florida wildlife. In addition, this state office determines license fees, which are set by the Florida Legislature.

Hunting licenses are annual permits valid 12 months from the date of issuance. A lifetime hunting license is also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a 10 day hunting permit.

Freshwater fishing licenses are valid 12 months from the date of issuance. A five-year freshwater fishing license and a lifetime freshwater fishing license are also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a seven-day permit.

The "Cane Pole Law" allows Florida any resident to fish in the county of his/her residency without a license. The angler can use live or natural bait and poles or hand lines that are not equipped with a reel, for non-commercial purposes only. No fishing license is required to fish in a private fishing pond.

Update - Florida and Georgia are no longer reciprocal:

An agreement between Florida and Georgia that allowed senior citizens from either state to hunt and fish in freshwater without licenses in both states ended on June 30, 2008.

Georgia officials announced in May, 2007 that economic realities have rendered the reciprocal agreement no longer feasible for hunting, and that it would come off the books.  The nature of the agreement required that Florida follow suit.

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) voted to end the reciprocal agreement concerning freshwater fishing, as well.  The agreement never has exempted nonresident seniors from either state from saltwater fishing license requirments.

SALTWATER SHORELINE FISHING LICENSE:
All fishermen who are fishing from a bridge or the shoreline (even your own private dock) must have a Saltwater Shoreline License to fish.
The Saltwater Shoreline Fishing License, which is available only to residents, is a no cost license. 
If you already hold a Saltwater License, you will not need a Shoreline License.