× Home Contact Us Anonymous Reporting Property Taxes Business Taxes Motor Services Driver Licenses Concealed Licenses Online Payment Center Birth Records Hunting-Fishing Tourist Development Mobile Homes Forms


Flagler County began collection of the Tourist Development Tax, also known as “bed tax,” effective 8/1/2018, pursuant to Flagler County Ordinance 2018-10.

The Flagler County Tourist Development Tax applies to any living quarters or accommodations, including but not limited to, hotels, motels, apartment buildings, single or multifamily dwellings, mobile home parks, recreational vehicle parks, condominiums, cottages, and boats permanently affixed to a dock and not operated on the water by the tenant. Any person who rents or leases any transient accommodations for a period of 6 months or less is responsible for collecting and remitting the tax.

For additional information on how Flagler County "bed tax" revenues are utilized, please visit http://www.visitflagler.com/tdc/


The tourist development tax is 5% on taxable rental receipts.

Sales and Use Tax of 7% must also be collected and remitted to the Florida Department of Revenue (http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/taxes/sales_tax.html).

The tourist development tax is due to the Tax Collector's office monthly or quarterly. It is due on the 1st day of the month following the reporting period and becomes delinquent if not paid or postmarked by the 20th day of the month following the reporting period. A return must be submitted even if no taxes were collected for the month.

A collection allowance of 2.5% of the first $ 1,200.00 of tax due, or a maximum of $ 30, may be deducted if the return is paid or postmarked by the 20th day of the month following the reporting period.

To register to file, you will need to create an online account through our Tourist Express website.

Participants are required to obtain a Sales Tax Identification Number from the Florida Department of Revenue for filing of the tax. For information on Sales and Use Tax and the application for a Sales Tax Identification Number please visit the Department of Revenue's website: http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/taxes/sales_tax.html or call the Daytona Beach branch of the Florida Department of Revenue at 386-274-6600.

Online: https://flagler.county-taxes.com/tourist OR you can submit your tax returns by mailing to the address below:

  • Suzanne Johnston - Tax Collector
  • Flagler County Tax Collector
  • P.O. Box 896
  • Bunnell, FL 32110

Tourist Development Tax Return

Any person exempt under the provisions of Chapter 212, Florida Statutes and holds a valid certificate of exemption issued by the Florida Department of Revenue.

Anyone who has signed a bona fide written lease for six months +1 Day is exempt from Tourist Development Tax. If there is not a written agreement, the owner is required to collect and remit the Tourist Development Tax for the first six months. The seventh month and every month thereafter will be exempt provided the renter continuously resides at the same location.

If the return and payment are not postmarked by the 20th of the month following the reporting period, the collection allowance is forfeited. In addition penalty and interest are assessed. The penalty is 10% of the tax due for each month or fraction of a month that the return is delinquent. The penalty is a minimum of $50, up to a maximum of 50% of the tax due. The interest rate is variable. The interest rate may be found online at www.floridarevenue.com or by contacting the Tax Collector’s office (386) 313-4160.

After filing and paying your final return notify the Tax Collector's office in writing that the property will no longer be rented on a short term basis.

If you suspect a person or business is evading the Tourist Development Tax, you may report this information anonymously by calling our Tourist Tax Department at (386) 313-4165 or by written correspondence to:

  • Suzanne Johnston - Tax Collector
  • Flagler County Tax Collector
  • P.O. Box 896
  • Bunnell, FL 32110

Please provide as much detailed information as possible.

You may also submit tips anonymously online by clicking HERE.


At this time, the Flagler County Tax Collector does not have an agreement with any online rental platforms to remit Tourist Development tax on behalf of the hosts.

Contact our office as soon as possible. We will work with you to bring your property into compliance. Our email is touristtax@flaglertax.com or call us at (386) 313-4165.

In most cases, the Rental agent has their own account and will submit your tourist tax on a consolidated tax return that includes the rental properties of all of their clients. However, you should be aware that you, as the property owner, are ultimately responible for the required tax to be paid. Any failure by your rental agent to pay the tax could result in penalties being applied against your property.

If you also rent the property yourself, you are required to collect and remit taxes under your own account.

If you collect rent from them or accept any other form of compensation in lieu of rent you will be required to remit tourist development tax based upon the amount of rent paid, or upon the fair market value of the compensation received in lieu of rent.

Yes, if the charge is a mandatory fee to use the property, you would include the amount in the rental receipts. Other examples of additional fees to include would be non-refundable fees such as pet fees, early check-in/check-out fees, etc.